Monday, 11 February 2013

MIES ARCH 2013 - The final nominees

Were revealed the nominees for the Award Mies Van der Rohe European Union Contemporary Architecture. The Portuguese project of House for Elderly People in Alcácer do Sal of Aires Mateus is one of the appointed projects.

The winner will be announced on May and the award will be handed over on June 6th, on Mies Van Der Rohe Pavillion in Barcelona.

House for Elderly People - Alcácer do Sal, Portugal - Aires Mateus Arquitectos, Portugal 
Ghent City Hall - Ghent, Belgium - Robbrecht and Daem, Belgium
Superkilen Park - Copenhagen, Denmark - BIG Architects, Denmark
Harpa Reykjavik Concert Hall & Conference Centre - Reykjavik, Iceland - Batteríid Architects, Henning Larsen Architects and Studio Olafur Eliasson
Metropol Parasol - Sevilla, Spain - Jürgen Mayer-Hermann, Germany

House for Elderly People - Aires Mateus Arquitectos
Ghent City Hall - Robbrecht and Daem
Superkilen Park - BIG Architects
Harpa Reykjavik Concert Hall & Conference Centre - Batteríid Architects, Henning Larsen Architects and Studio Olafur Eliasson
Metropol Parasol - Jürgen Mayer-Hermann

How the prize works?
- text from -

"Rather than an event that happens every two years, the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award is a continuous process focused on how architects are thinking and working in Europe today.

For each two-year period proposals are submitted for the Jury’s consideration by a group of independent experts, the member associations of the Architects’ Council of Europe (ACE), the other European national architects’ associations and the Advisory Committee. The Jury members meet on two occasions. In their first session they focus on the evaluation of all the nominated works and making a selection of shorlisted and finalist works. They visit the finalist works and immediately afterwards in their second meeting they make their decisions about the Prize Winner and theEmerging Architect Special Mention.

The award process culminates in a catalogue publication and travelling exhibition that features the works chosen by the Jury – the Prize Winner, Special Mention, the finalists and the shortlisted works. All of the works nominated are available for consultation on the Prize database, transforming each edition into a biennial anthology of some of the best work being constructed in Europe.

The Prize has been a collective project from its inception. The organisational network has been growing with each successive edition and includes the collaboration of the institutions that form part of the Steering Committe, who are co-organisers and the Advisory Committee, the Architects’ Council of Europe (ACE) member associations and other European architects’ associations, who are partners in the organisation of the Prize."

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.